Skip to content

School Board Approves Federal Desegregation Consent Order

The Fayette County School Board met on Thursday, September 7, 2023. The motion was passed to approve the proposed federal desegregation consent order as presented by attorney Tom Minor in executive session along with side agreement with the U.S. Department of Justice and the NAACP Legal Defense Fund related to the reporting requirements of teacher promotions and salary. The motion also includes approval of the consultant’s agreement with Alves Educational Consultants Group, LTD related to revisions to the district’s current Controlled Choice program in order to eliminate the consideration of race. The board also heard the teaching plans from the educational consultant hired to improve their system. Pictured are school board members. Pictured are school board members Warren Speakman, Myles Wilson, Heather Doyle, and school board secretary Gennette Malone.

Leave a Comment