Skip to content

Area Breaking News

Late Jimmie German Inducted into Court Clerks Hall of Fame

On November 8, 2022, at the 54th Annual Convention and Trade Show in Murfreesboro, TN, the late Jimmie German was inducted into the County Officials Association of Tennessee Court Clerks “Hall of Fame”. He served Fayette County as Circuit and General Sessions Court Clerk for 32 years. Pictured are his wife, Diane and daughter Jennifer…

Read More

Oakland Board Honored Outgoing Aldermen

The Oakland Board met on Thursday, November 17, 2022. Mayor Mike Brown presented a plaque of appreciation to outgoing alderman Todd Hahn for his 2 years of service and to outgoing alderman Greg Duncan for his total 16 years of service in different terms.

Read More

“Villages at Windy Ridge” Planned Development is Approved

The Oakland Board met on Tuesday, November 15, 2022, at the gym at West Junior High in a special called meeting to hold a public hearing on rezoning 366 acres on the corner of Hwy 196 and Hwy 64. The board did vote to approve on second reading. Pictured is the developer Doug Swink at…

Read More

Fayette Academy Class of 1982 – 40th Reunion

The Fayette Academy Class of 1982 held their 40th year class reunion on October 22, 2022 at the Somerville Country Club. Those attending were, left to right, first row – Tina Pulliam Williams, Dee Summers Dowdy, Bobbie Anna Collier Ash, Teresa Houston Kirk, Kathy Taylor Davis, Phillip Montague. Second row – Jeanne Harris Thomas, Beth…

Read More

Fayette County’s Veterans Day Ceremony

The American Legion Post 292 hosted the Fayette County’s Veterans Day ceremony last Friday, November 11th, at the justice complex. Pictured are Bob Johnson of the American Legion and guest speaker Dolores Gresham, a veteran and former Tennessee senator.

Read More

Fayette County Election Results for November 8, 2022

Tennessee Governor Bill Lee –          10866 Jason Martin –   3212 Constance Every – 66 John Gentry – 74 Basil Marceaux – 18 Charles Morgan – 14 Alfred O’Neil – 12 Deborah Rouse – 20 Michael Scantland – 8 Rick Tyler – 22 U.S. House of Representatives, District 8 (1 Position) David Kustoff –…

Read More